Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 23, 2024, 07:59:02 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
we're back, baby
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  The Gaming Graveyard  |  MMOG Discussion  |  Eve Online  |  Topic: Super Newbie 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Super Newbie  (Read 57892 times)
Morfiend
Terracotta Army

wants a greif tittle

on: August 17, 2010, 09:10:52 AM

Hey gang,

So on a whim last night I picked up EVE to play with a few of my friends who have been really in to it lately. I played for a few weeks several years ago, so basically I am a total newbie. I have just under 1 mil skills points. I am hoping some people here can answer some questions for me.

Basically, I like combat, I dont really want to focus on mining or anything like that, although I wouldnt mind doing a little bit of it. I would like to fly a smaller very very fast ship. Probably DPS or support or both. My current character is Amarr Cyber Knight, and I seem to have lasers in all my ships. I think I can fly t2 Frigates (not totally sure).

Since my skill points are so low, I would have no problem rerolling, especially now that the character creation seems to have totally changed. Ok, on to my questions:

1) I would like to fly a VERY fast  smallerish ship. What ship should I go for?

2) I like the idea of a covops ship, is that compatible with the above, and if so, what race and starting character should I be?

3) I heard lasers are not very good these days. Should I go for something else?

4) I am hoping to make money ratting, and to do PVP with you guys once I get set up, if any of you are still playing. Can I make money mostly ratting?

I have read multiple newbie guides, but its hard to tell what information is still valid and what has changed.

Thanks in advance gang. I really want to give EVE a good try this time.
Phildo