Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 20, 2017, 10:21:29 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
Donate! | Subscribe! | Shop: Amazon

***DONATION DRIVE 2 HAS BEGUN:
CLICK HERE TO BURN MONEY***
*
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  PC/Console Gaming  |  Topic: StarCraft II 0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 50 Go Down Print
Author Topic: StarCraft II  (Read 107067 times)
Surlyboi
Terracotta Army
Posts: 9270

eat a bag of dicks


Reply #35 on: July 27, 2010, 10:50:47 AM

Yeah

Addendum:

The song that goes "I've got a Zerg and a shotgun and I'm bringin' 'em home to you" is fucking awesome.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 11:03:58 AM by Surlyboi »

Tuned in, immediately get to watch cringey Ubisoft talking head offering her deepest sympathies to the families impacted by the Orlando shooting while flanked by a man in a giraffe suit and some sort of "horrifically garish neon costumes through the ages" exhibit or something.  We need to stop this fucking planet right now and sort some shit out. -Kail
Rasix
Moderator
Posts: 14174

I am the harbinger of your doom!


Reply #36 on: July 27, 2010, 12:54:47 PM

Blizzard makes the slowest installing games.

-Rasix
fuser
Terracotta Army
Posts: 1572


Reply #37 on: July 27, 2010, 01:33:06 PM

Blizzard makes the slowest installing games.

Not to mention the tiny buttons in the blue window which mutes the audio has zero tooltips to let you know if your going to close the installer by accident.
Ingmar
Terracotta Army
Posts: 19280

Auto Assault Affectionado


Reply #38 on: July 27, 2010, 03:49:53 PM

It installed pretty fast for me, maybe took a minute or two past the end of the PREVIOUSLY ON STARCRAFT narration.

The Transcendent One: AH... THE ROGUE CONSTRUCT.
Nordom: Sense of closure: imminent.
tazelbain
Terracotta Army
Posts: 6603

tazelbain


Reply #39 on: July 27, 2010, 03:57:54 PM

How much personal info do you have to give them to just play the single player game?

"Me am play gods"
kildorn
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5014


Reply #40 on: July 27, 2010, 04:27:02 PM

How much personal info do you have to give them to just play the single player game?

A bnet account?
Malakili
Terracotta Army
Posts: 10551


Reply #41 on: July 27, 2010, 04:27:30 PM

How much personal info do you have to give them to just play the single player game?

A bnet account?

I think it just has to be a valid e-mail, its been a long time since I made mine.
Rasix
Moderator
Posts: 14174

I am the harbinger of your doom!


Reply #42 on: July 27, 2010, 04:30:30 PM

It installed pretty fast for me, maybe took a minute or two past the end of the PREVIOUSLY ON STARCRAFT narration.

I was at like 22% when it finished.  Ohhhhh, I see.  It's nice though that it patched automatically on its own when it finished.


-Rasix
kildorn
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5014


Reply #43 on: July 27, 2010, 04:51:05 PM

So yeah, I totally want the units from single player in multi. I know things get cut for balance, but QQ Firebats
Thrawn
Terracotta Army
Posts: 3089


Reply #44 on: July 27, 2010, 06:04:14 PM

Up and running annndd....no support for my resolution it looks like.   Heartbreak Have to play it like everyone else on one monitor.

"Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the Universe is that none of it has tried to contact us."
Rasix
Moderator
Posts: 14174

I am the harbinger of your doom!


Reply #45 on: July 27, 2010, 06:39:06 PM

This is actually pretty impressive.  The single player campaign that is.  Well, the missions themselves so far are nothing special, but all of the stuff they've built around it is pretty neat.  Sucks that I didn't remember the Terran hotkeys.  awesome, for real
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 06:41:01 PM by Rasix »

-Rasix
patience
Terracotta Army
Posts: 366


Reply #46 on: July 27, 2010, 06:51:26 PM

This is actually pretty impressive.  The single player campaign that is.  Well, the missions themselves so far are nothing special, but all of the stuff they've built around it is pretty neat.  Sucks that I didn't remember the Terran hotkeys.  awesome, for real

They changed the hotkeys to be more similar to the hotkey layout progamers use. It's less intuitive early on but it helps with hand dexterity.

OP is assuming its somewhat of a design-goal of eve to make players happy.
this is however not the case.
Register
Terracotta Army
Posts: 133


Reply #47 on: July 27, 2010, 07:35:54 PM

Full screen mode still seems to be wonky where Alt-Tab to desktop is concerned. The one time I did it SC2 crashed immediately after....
Luxor
Terracotta Army
Posts: 124


Reply #48 on: July 27, 2010, 07:59:50 PM

Up and running annndd....no support for my resolution it looks like.   Heartbreak Have to play it like everyone else on one monitor.

Apparently playing it on anything wider than 1920*1200 is cheating or something according to a blue forum post. I fail to see how that works in single player
Paelos
Contributor
Posts: 26672

Error 404: Title not found.


Reply #49 on: July 27, 2010, 10:19:16 PM

This is actually pretty impressive.  The single player campaign that is.  Well, the missions themselves so far are nothing special, but all of the stuff they've built around it is pretty neat.  Sucks that I didn't remember the Terran hotkeys.  awesome, for real

Yes, the cutscenes, surrounding elements, conversations, etc. have all built a very VERY nice atmosphere for the single player campaign.

Also, the Terran music and the jukebox are both AWESOME. The whole race speaks loudly to me and my Southern brethren, even if it is making total fun of us.  Heart awesome, for real

CPA, Sports blogger, Mount and Blade enthusiast
Braves by the Numbers, my sports blog
naum
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4234


WWW
Reply #50 on: July 27, 2010, 10:54:33 PM

Installed, but unable to play… …stuck on opening cinematic animation of ship going around/past planet, seemingly can't tap any key sequence to get the main menu up…

Grrr, panel must have "slid under" or something… …all well in SC2 land now…
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 11:15:17 PM by naum »

"We offered players a Camelot. We immediately discovered players wanted to smear shit all over the walls, create giant penises out of whatever was available, rape, rob and kill their fellow players and anything else not given invulnerability while making the teabag emote over their corpses and generally be utter and complete cunts. So we dialed it back a little." ~HaemishM
K9
Terracotta Army
Posts: 7439


Reply #51 on: July 27, 2010, 11:19:00 PM

The single player campaign is very good. It's also looking pretty long. Playing on hard is.... reasonably challenging. Normal is a bit too easy. I don't have much breathing room here so I don't know how brutal would be, unless you can carry over your earned upgrades.

Also, get perdition turrets. The second mission in the colonist series offers you a fantastic opportunity to use them really well and they are just brilliant fun.

I love the smell of facepalm in the morning
SurfD
Terracotta Army
Posts: 3538


Reply #52 on: July 28, 2010, 12:04:14 AM

If the achievements are correct, the single player campaign is 28 missions.

Darwinism is the Gateway Science.
K9
Terracotta Army
Posts: 7439


Reply #53 on: July 28, 2010, 06:35:55 AM

29 missions I think.

I love the smell of facepalm in the morning
jakonovski
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4388


Reply #54 on: July 28, 2010, 08:02:23 AM

The counter says 26.

Only played four missions so far, pretty easy on normal but
kildorn
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5014


Reply #55 on: July 28, 2010, 09:00:47 AM

The counter says 26.

Only played four missions so far, pretty easy on normal but

There are a few pick a mission situations, so there are ~29 missions, 26 playable per run through.

And the ship interactions++. So well done. Crazy news lady is funny. Armory details on units are nicely done. Absolutely bullshit missions are kept to a minimum and aren't that frustrating.

About my only complaints about the game are that the basic scale of unit sizes makes no sense (drill mission has a keypad that has keys the size of a marine's head. You fly around on a ship with a 250 man crew that apparently holds infinite units including more of said same ships.. why not just make the mothership a GIANT SHIP you never see that builds the shit you use?) and that whoever writes their plots has never heard of the word "subtle"

jakonovski
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4388


Reply #56 on: July 28, 2010, 09:14:16 AM

The whole scale thing is probably part of the 90s concentrate they forced the devs to drink. I like it because it makes things look like a tabletop miniatures game.   
kildorn
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5014


Reply #57 on: July 28, 2010, 09:31:19 AM

I can see why they do it (scale wise, there's no way to get their concept of a battlecruiser on a map with marines), it just makes me nerdrage a bit at times.
Arinon
Terracotta Army
Posts: 308


Reply #58 on: July 28, 2010, 10:54:59 AM

The thing that bothers me the most is the marine suit in all the ship interactions.  You'd have to have six foot wide shoulders!

Having a blast with the single player so far.
Paelos
Contributor
Posts: 26672

Error 404: Title not found.


Reply #59 on: July 28, 2010, 10:59:49 AM

For Tychus being in the suit all the time, I was thinking this is typical over-the-top fantasy shit with no thought to actual human function. How does he shit? Where does he sleep? What happens if he gets an itch?

Of course the lore answer will be, "The suit does it all! It's an advanced suit! We give them to convicts!"

CPA, Sports blogger, Mount and Blade enthusiast
Braves by the Numbers, my sports blog
Typhon
Terracotta Army
Posts: 2369


Reply #60 on: July 28, 2010, 11:19:23 AM

In the original trailer, they weld him into that suit.  He steps into the booties, which lock, and then they remove the ankle shackles.  My take is that his suit is a combination weapons platform and mobile prison.  They don't want him getting out of the suit.
kildorn
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5014


Reply #61 on: July 28, 2010, 12:03:37 PM

In the original trailer, they weld him into that suit.  He steps into the booties, which lock, and then they remove the ankle shackles.  My take is that his suit is a combination weapons platform and mobile prison.  They don't want him getting out of the suit.

That's the opening cinematic when the game first starts, too.

That character bothers me so much. SO MANY GAPING HOLES IN HIS PLOT.
Paelos
Contributor
Posts: 26672

Error 404: Title not found.


Reply #62 on: July 28, 2010, 12:30:02 PM

Exactly, I really just can't make the mental leap of "Must be in suit at all times."

That just will not fucking work.  ACK!

CPA, Sports blogger, Mount and Blade enthusiast
Braves by the Numbers, my sports blog
jakonovski
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4388


Reply #63 on: July 28, 2010, 12:31:12 PM

It bothered me that Tychus still had his prison pants on when he put the suit on. Even if that thing has poop and piss tubes, it's going to get a bit messy.
Ingmar
Terracotta Army
Posts: 19280

Auto Assault Affectionado


Reply #64 on: July 28, 2010, 12:53:43 PM

lolmetzen

The Transcendent One: AH... THE ROGUE CONSTRUCT.
Nordom: Sense of closure: imminent.
K9
Terracotta Army
Posts: 7439


Reply #65 on: July 28, 2010, 01:17:52 PM

Yeah, that.


I love the smell of facepalm in the morning
kildorn
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5014


Reply #66 on: July 28, 2010, 01:20:03 PM

Exactly, I really just can't make the mental leap of "Must be in suit at all times."

That just will not fucking work.  ACK!

That's the LEAST offensive part of his plot holes.

Spoilerish cutscene laugh about the ghosts:
Paelos
Contributor
Posts: 26672

Error 404: Title not found.


Reply #67 on: July 28, 2010, 01:49:57 PM

I don't know if constantly being shut in a mech suit could be called the least offensive part of his background. He would have to smell like old shrimp stuffed with bad cheese.

But yes, the second he walks into the door and talks about how Raynor's not a hard man to find, I am immediately going  Ohhhhh, I see.


CPA, Sports blogger, Mount and Blade enthusiast
Braves by the Numbers, my sports blog
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20564


Reply #68 on: July 28, 2010, 03:38:44 PM

Up and running annndd....no support for my resolution it looks like.   Heartbreak Have to play it like everyone else on one monitor.
Apparently playing it on anything wider than 1920*1200 is cheating or something according to a blue forum post. I fail to see how that works in single player
It works at 2560 x 1440 and I would assume it works at 2560 x 1600 too. It doesn't work at less than 1024 x 720.
Yegolev
Moderator
Posts: 23543

2/10 WOULD NOT INGEST


WWW
Reply #69 on: July 28, 2010, 03:56:08 PM

Skimmed thread.  I gather the plot sucks but the game is passable.  Buy?

Why am I homeless?  Why do all you motherfuckers need homes is the real question.
They called it The Prayer, its answer was law
Mommy come back 'cause the water's all gone
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 50 Go Up Print 
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  PC/Console Gaming  |  Topic: StarCraft II  
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC