Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 23, 2017, 01:59:32 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
Donate! | Subscribe! | Shop: Amazon

***DONATION DRIVE 2 HAS BEGUN:
CLICK HERE TO BURN MONEY***
*
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  PC/Console Gaming  |  Topic: The 'Build Me A PC' Thread 0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
Pages: 1 ... 75 76 [77] 78 79 Go Down Print
Author Topic: The 'Build Me A PC' Thread  (Read 216537 times)
Nebu
Terracotta Army
Posts: 17400


Reply #2660 on: June 30, 2017, 08:14:28 AM

An Nvidia GeForce GTX 760.

"Always do what is right. It will gratify half of mankind and astound the other."

-  Mark Twain
Cyrrex
Terracotta Army
Posts: 6995


Reply #2661 on: June 30, 2017, 10:09:27 AM

Honestly, you'd get more bang out of a vid card upgrade with that setup.  Going to a 970, 1060 or a 1070.  Heck even a 960, although I'm not sure it would be as massively noticeable compared to the 760.

Never, ever assume someone that short and fat has their shit together. - Schild
Merusk
Terracotta Army
Posts: 27379

Badge Whore


Reply #2662 on: June 30, 2017, 10:19:16 AM

Yeah, we're well past the days of needing a processor upgrade unless doing computing stuff like CAD, BIM, Rendering or other heavy number-crunching. When I burned out the MoBo when my power supply went I upgraded 2 processor generations. Zero difference in performance vs. when I'd swapped the vid card earlier in the year on the older processor.

I can't get past the panties - Alluvian
I really like the cocks. - Lantyssa
People rarely believe just how good I am at sucking. - Lantyssa
I love the swinging dongs - Signe
Nebu
Terracotta Army
Posts: 17400


Reply #2663 on: June 30, 2017, 10:41:56 AM

Great feedback.  Thanks guys!

"Always do what is right. It will gratify half of mankind and astound the other."

-  Mark Twain
Hawkbit
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4831

Like a Klansman in the ghetto.


Reply #2664 on: July 03, 2017, 03:53:21 PM

Finally scrounged enough to buy a MacBook Pro in the next few weeks.  Looking at the 13" models, pretty convinced to go 16GB upgrade, but debating the CPU upgrade. I'm hoping to get 5years out of the system. Any thoughts? The benchmarks don't seem to be that great but it does bump it to the i7, still dual core though.

$2500 computer is a tough pill to swallow, but after trying to do Rails dev and now Elixir/Phoenix on windows, I spend a ton of time working around problems, hoping the shift to OS X helps mitigate that concern.
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20569


Reply #2665 on: July 03, 2017, 04:41:50 PM

Finally scrounged enough to buy a MacBook Pro in the next few weeks.  Looking at the 13" models, pretty convinced to go 16GB upgrade, but debating the CPU upgrade. I'm hoping to get 5years out of the system. Any thoughts? The benchmarks don't seem to be that great but it does bump it to the i7, still dual core though.
There's only the clock speed bump going from the i5-7287U to the i7-7567U. Unlike with the desktop CPUs where i5s usually don't have Hyper-Threading and i7s do here the mobile i5s and i7s both have HT and there's no other spec difference that I can spot between them:

https://ark.intel.com/products/97531/Intel-Core-i5-7287U-Processor-4M-Cache-up-to-3_70-GHz
https://ark.intel.com/products/97541/Intel-Core-i7-7567U-Processor-4M-Cache-up-to-4_00-GHz

Quote
$2500 computer is a tough pill to swallow, but after trying to do Rails dev and now Elixir/Phoenix on windows, I spend a ton of time working around problems, hoping the shift to OS X helps mitigate that concern.
I've never tried to run Erlang/Elixir/Phoenix on Windows but just like with Rails all the serious Elixir and Phoenix developers use Macs so it's super easy getting Elixir and Phoenix up and running on macOS.
MahrinSkel
Terracotta Army
Posts: 9271

When she crossed over, she was just a ship. But when she came back... she was bullshit!


Reply #2666 on: July 03, 2017, 04:57:36 PM

<obligatory no one who uses apple is a serious anything rant here>

--Jello Biafra: "If evolution is outlawed, only outlaws will evolve."
Hawkbit
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4831

Like a Klansman in the ghetto.


Reply #2667 on: July 03, 2017, 05:24:08 PM

Thanks, Trippy - that was exactly what I needed to see! Since it appears to be straight increases, I plan to spend the extra $100 to bump from the 7267U to the 7287U. My reasoning being it looks like a 6% cpu performance upgrade for 5% extra cost vs. the jump from the 728tU to the 7567U, which  is a 7% increase for 9.5% greater cost.

The memory is not debatable - 16gb is somewhat overkill, but I do use VM/Vagrant on my windows box into Linux. Not sure I'll keep using it once on the Mac, but we'll see. HDD... well 512 will have to do. Most of my stuff is in third party storage anyways.

Again, thank you!
Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 29339

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #2668 on: July 04, 2017, 08:45:32 AM

I have the i7 15", it's pretty goddamned nice. You definitely want the RAM, in my case using a mac means dicking around with java apps or VMs quite often.

My only complaint thus far is that the keyboard is loud, everyone in the office knows when I'm typing. If it were my personal machine, I'd have sprung for better graphics. Even with the Radeon, it's underpowered for games (though with a 970 at 1080p I'm spoiled). Also wish I had been able to swing the 512GB drive, but I have to answer to a board on my purchases and couldn't really justify it for work. The touchpad is a beautiful thing, I've yet to plug a mouse into it.

So far dongle wise, I've only used an HDMI dongle for my second monitor at work and plugging it into the tv at home. Unfortunately, their multi-dongle (HDMI/USB/power) is not HDCP  Ohhhhh, I see.


Yegolev
Moderator
Posts: 23546

2/10 WOULD NOT INGEST


WWW
Reply #2669 on: July 07, 2017, 09:22:47 AM

I'm not even doing serious development on my workstation, just basic programming crap like editing, git, etc. but the difference in productivity was stark when I switched from Win to Mac.  Of course, I'm a UNIX dude and work on linux targets, so that probably flavors it since getting Win to cooperate with "real" computers is just a constant hum of annoyance.

Why am I homeless?  Why do all you motherfuckers need homes is the real question.
They called it The Prayer, its answer was law
Mommy come back 'cause the water's all gone
Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 29339

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #2670 on: July 07, 2017, 11:57:30 AM

That's the main thing I like as a 'not-serious' user. The shiny OS front-end works for the tech-unsavvy librarians and clerks, and if I need to get something done that the OS is fighting me on, the terminal is always there to get shit done. Had to log into out OSX server for the first time in years, a couple days ago, I just use ssh for everything. Sure, I could do it with a windows setup, but there's a lot of unnecessary overhead imo.

I just decided that I'm upgrading the server, since we're low user access, I'm just putting in a mac mini running the server OS with a synology nas.

Had to use a 2016 dell laptop yesterday to program some custom boards from a vendor and it was kinda shocking. I like Windows 10 and use it at home, but the hardware experience was night and day. The MBP is just so much nicer to use, the trackpad on the Dell was making me crazy. It felt like going back to a two button mouse after having used a scroll wheel mouse.

Yegolev
Moderator
Posts: 23546

2/10 WOULD NOT INGEST


WWW
Reply #2671 on: July 07, 2017, 12:00:52 PM

The trackpad on the 2015 MBP is absolutely the best that I have ever used.  I even like it more than mice.  More than the Magic Mouse, even.  Need to get that standalone pad for when I'm using it closed with my 4k screen.

Also, it simply doesn't break.  Just not having to deal with the DOS print spooler alone is an exquisite joy.

Why am I homeless?  Why do all you motherfuckers need homes is the real question.
They called it The Prayer, its answer was law
Mommy come back 'cause the water's all gone
Merusk
Terracotta Army
Posts: 27379

Badge Whore


Reply #2672 on: July 07, 2017, 12:05:49 PM

Dell trackpads have always been shit. I have a small USB mouse for that reason alone. If I HAVE to go anywhere near the track pad because of a lack of mouse or space I use the pointer button instead, it tracks so much better and doesn't have the annoying "LOL your wrist barely grazed the trackpad and now the mouse is on the other side of the screen" feature of the touchpad.

I can't get past the panties - Alluvian
I really like the cocks. - Lantyssa
People rarely believe just how good I am at sucking. - Lantyssa
I love the swinging dongs - Signe
MahrinSkel
Terracotta Army
Posts: 9271

When she crossed over, she was just a ship. But when she came back... she was bullshit!


Reply #2673 on: July 16, 2017, 03:32:34 PM

There's a line of cheap 4K TV's from China, sold under the brands TCL, Hi-Sense, and Insignia. They are all pretty much the same, and about half the cost of the equivalent sets from the better known brands. Just picked up a 49" TCL version for $380 (retail from Best Buy), and I can report that it makes an excellent computer monitor. At 25 pounds, it is too heavy for most articulated mounts (and 200x200 or 400x400 VESA spacing wouldn't fit them), I am getting a wheeled TV cart to get it off my desk.

It also has built in Roku TV, but I don't expect to use that. They're also backordered to 3 months out on Amazon, hence the trip to Best Buy (where I had to make a pest of myself to get the staff to go search for it, they weren't on display yet and they didn't want to search the pallets).

--Dave

--Jello Biafra: "If evolution is outlawed, only outlaws will evolve."
Nebu
Terracotta Army
Posts: 17400


Reply #2674 on: July 16, 2017, 04:20:55 PM

I picked up a 50" Hitachi at Sam's Club that was a 4k with Roku for $398.  Very happy with it.

"Always do what is right. It will gratify half of mankind and astound the other."

-  Mark Twain
schild
Administrator
Posts: 55734


WWW
Reply #2675 on: July 16, 2017, 05:45:16 PM

Hitachi still makes tvs?
MahrinSkel
Terracotta Army
Posts: 9271

When she crossed over, she was just a ship. But when she came back... she was bullshit!


Reply #2676 on: July 16, 2017, 06:57:36 PM

Hitachi still makes tvs?
Hitachi, Westinghouse, and JVC all put their branding on the same sets I am talking about. Not sure if it is just licensing, but they seem otherwise exactly the same.

--Dave

--Jello Biafra: "If evolution is outlawed, only outlaws will evolve."
Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 29339

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #2677 on: July 19, 2017, 07:16:41 PM

Got tired of my computer doing its weird crash thing. Since all components have been replaced except the PSU, which is a 10yr old Power PC & Cooling 610W (which was great in its day!), I decided it's time to replace it. I don't have massive power needs right now (mostly just the i5 2500k and 970), but since I like to keep the case/PSU for over a decade, apparently, I bought a Seasonic Prime SSR-850TD. May have been overkill?

The last PSU fed 2 generations of CPUs and 3 generations of GPUs, so I figure it's worth a bit of splurge.

Miguel
Terracotta Army
Posts: 847

कुशल


Reply #2678 on: July 20, 2017, 05:52:52 AM

That looks like a good choice.  Amortized over years and multiple upgrades even the more expensive PSU's come out pretty cheap.

“We have competent people thinking about this stuff. We’re not just making shit up.” -Neil deGrasse Tyson
rattran
Moderator
Posts: 3813

Unreasonable


Reply #2679 on: July 20, 2017, 08:00:33 AM

I need to replace my 570, it can still keep up in games, but it running hotter and louder. Fan at max and it's still hitting 95+.
Assuming mining craze availability woes go away soon, what's the current sweet spot for cards? I'm playing at 1080x1200 still, but expect to change to a higher rez monitor over the winter.
MahrinSkel
Terracotta Army
Posts: 9271

When she crossed over, she was just a ship. But when she came back... she was bullshit!


Reply #2680 on: July 20, 2017, 06:49:24 PM

I need to replace my 570, it can still keep up in games, but it running hotter and louder. Fan at max and it's still hitting 95+.
Assuming mining craze availability woes go away soon, what's the current sweet spot for cards? I'm playing at 1080x1200 still, but expect to change to a higher rez monitor over the winter.
Before things went nuts, it was the 1060.

--Dave

--Jello Biafra: "If evolution is outlawed, only outlaws will evolve."
Chimpy
Terracotta Army
Posts: 8383


WWW
Reply #2681 on: July 21, 2017, 06:55:10 AM

I just read an article saying that a lot of second hand cards that were used for Ethereum mining have started to crop up on eBay. Sounds like the mining boom has started to subside already.

'Reality' is the only word in the language that should always be used in quotes.
MahrinSkel
Terracotta Army
Posts: 9271

When she crossed over, she was just a ship. But when she came back... she was bullshit!


Reply #2682 on: July 21, 2017, 03:49:03 PM

And 1060's have reappeared at sane prices (around $200-300) on hardware sites, when just a week ago they were close to $500 and only available from affiliate resellers. So it appears the run is over, at least until Ethereum spikes again.

If I can scare up the cash, I may grab one while the getting is good.

--Dave

--Jello Biafra: "If evolution is outlawed, only outlaws will evolve."
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20569


Reply #2683 on: July 21, 2017, 05:03:40 PM

I need to replace my 570, it can still keep up in games, but it running hotter and louder. Fan at max and it's still hitting 95+.
Assuming mining craze availability woes go away soon, what's the current sweet spot for cards? I'm playing at 1080x1200 still, but expect to change to a higher rez monitor over the winter.
Did you mean 1920 x 1080 (1080p) or maybe 1920 x 1200? For higher rez are we talking about 1440p or even higher like 4K?

While the 1060 is the sweet spot (at normal pricing) it's not going to do so well above 1080p if you want to run with the graphic settings turned up.
Rendakor
Terracotta Army
Posts: 8893


Reply #2684 on: July 21, 2017, 06:14:51 PM

My wife wants something to internet on, with a keyboard. The cheaper the better. I was thinking a chromebook, but I've never really used one so I don't know what you can or can't do on them compared to a Windows laptop. Google's site has a whole bunch of them varying wildly in price but the cheap ones don't seem to have any storage. swamp poop Do they take flash drives? Or are there decent, cheap Windows laptops out there that we'll be better off with?

Check out my podcast: ADD&D, Attention Deficit Dungeons & Dragons!
"I think it's time for a dose of F13 RED PILL MOTHER FUCKERS" ~cosapi
rattran
Moderator
Posts: 3813

Unreasonable


Reply #2685 on: July 21, 2017, 06:31:28 PM

I need to replace my 570, it can still keep up in games, but it running hotter and louder. Fan at max and it's still hitting 95+.
Assuming mining craze availability woes go away soon, what's the current sweet spot for cards? I'm playing at 1080x1200 still, but expect to change to a higher rez monitor over the winter.
Did you mean 1920 x 1080 (1080p) or maybe 1920 x 1200? For higher rez are we talking about 1440p or even higher like 4K?

While the 1060 is the sweet spot (at normal pricing) it's not going to do so well above 1080p if you want to run with the graphic settings turned up.

1920x1200, likely going to 1440p over the winter, as my venerable 28" is getting flaky. Tired posting leads to gibberty-typing.
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20569


Reply #2686 on: July 21, 2017, 06:44:08 PM

The GTX 1060 will work for 1440p gaming, likely with some settings turned down, but I would recommend a GTX 1070 or better if you can afford it.
Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 29339

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #2687 on: July 25, 2017, 08:45:48 AM

Well, shit. Thought the power supply fixed my issue, but last night it cropped up again. Basically, the computer will lock up, freeze the screen, and blast white noise out of the speakers. This has now happened across two computers, the PSU was the last component other than the case that I needed to swap. Different everything, same issue. Weird. Infuriating.

So far it happens in minecraft (rarely, and it's a resource hog the way I run it with 64x textures and 100+ mods), Witcher 3 (pretty regularly) and 7D2D (pretty regularly, to the point I quit out of the game to back up my save every hour or so now).

Can't seem to be able to isolate the variable.

rattran
Moderator
Posts: 3813

Unreasonable


Reply #2688 on: July 25, 2017, 09:17:34 AM

How old and bad are the power lines in your house? Are you behind a ups with avr?
Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 29339

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #2689 on: July 25, 2017, 11:02:56 AM

How old and bad are the power lines in your house? Are you behind a ups with avr?
That was my next thought. I don't have a UPS, just a decent isobar surge suppressor. I have two lines in the wall, one I installed when I moved in as a dedicated line. I'm going to make sure I'm plugged into that and put the other stuff on the other line to troubleshoot it.

I've got my tv, stereo receiver, cable box, modem, router, NAS and subwoofer all hooked up. I think I only have lower power devices on the box with the PC, but need to check that tonight (it was almost 2am when it crashed, so I just went to bed!).

Chimpy
Terracotta Army
Posts: 8383


WWW
Reply #2690 on: July 25, 2017, 04:44:35 PM

Surge supressor won't do power conditioning.

'Reality' is the only word in the language that should always be used in quotes.
Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 29339

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #2691 on: July 25, 2017, 04:59:13 PM

Yep, I had thought the PC was plugged into the dedicated line, at least. And it weren't. I'll snag a UPS, too. Been meaning to for years :D

Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 29339

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #2692 on: July 25, 2017, 11:15:46 PM

Hmm...since I bought a fancy power supply, I guess I need a fancy UPS? (Active PFC Sinewave)

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00429N19W/

Wasn't planning on $400 (for PSU and UPS) but I'm not feeling like skimping here, either. The white noise blasts every now and again probably shaved off a couple of Bart's lives, the poor bastard.

Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20569


Reply #2693 on: July 25, 2017, 11:21:31 PM

That's the one I use. No complaints but the power in my area is pretty decent so I don't really tax them.
Chimpy
Terracotta Army
Posts: 8383


WWW
Reply #2694 on: July 26, 2017, 12:41:34 AM

If it is just powering a PC and your real concern is power conditioning not runtime, a 1000VA model (and probably even a 750) should be big enough. I run my work PC plus two monitors on a 1K and get at least a half hour of runtime.

'Reality' is the only word in the language that should always be used in quotes.
Pages: 1 ... 75 76 [77] 78 79 Go Up Print 
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  PC/Console Gaming  |  Topic: The 'Build Me A PC' Thread  
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC