Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 03:46:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
we're back, baby
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  The Gaming Graveyard  |  Game Design/Development  |  Topic: The Fun of the Mundane 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: The Fun of the Mundane  (Read 6373 times)
stray
Terracotta Army

has an iMac.

on: December 31, 2008, 05:46:02 AM

I could have put this in general Gaming section, but maybe it fits better here.

Anyways, the thread title is referring to making "games" out of the mundane. I'm not a developer, so really, this is just a silly morning request for any developer reading this to consider it more often.

I'd like to thank coffee for this thread btw. awesome, for real

Most of the time, the games we play are either bare bones puzzles or based around fantasy (and by fantasy, I mean just about anything that the average person - in many cases, no person - is ever going to do). Why is that? Why is the act of "gaming" generally centered around being an outlet for fantasy? Is gaming equivalent to wanting to live out one's dreams of being a Navy SEAL, or fighting a dragon, sacking a Lithuanian town with an army of cossacks, or doing a triple back flip gun-kata move on some Nazi Zombie Super Soldier's head? I, for one, would like to see more games based around, say.. Meeting people at a party, Feng Shui, surviving a flood, getting someone fired, running a catering business..