Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 04:48:03 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
we're back, baby
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  Gaming  |  Topic: Valve to use in-game ads 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Valve to use in-game ads  (Read 15795 times)
angry.bob
Terracotta Army

We're no strangers to love. You know the rules and so do I.

on: December 09, 2006, 12:32:45 PM

Old school CS to get in game ads, rest of Valve games to follow soon. Motherfucking cocksuckers.

I am so god damn tired of ads everyplace, product placements, and fucking "sponsor" tie-ins. It was bad enough just in TV, movies, and RL billboards, but now ad companies have realized that people would be looking at the shit constantly, in their face, for hours on end - while their brains are experiencing pleasure and satisfaction. I'm not an expert, but the psychological effects of constantly viewing ads while actively plying a game absolutely have to be different than occasionally seeing a billboard while driving or passively watching TV.

From now on, I will only pay money for games from companies that don't do this shit. Any other company or their subsidiaries engaging sing in-game ads get their shit automatically pirated and distributed for free to anyone I know who wants it. I will not pay for a game and then have them get paid to brainwash me.

Wovon man nicht sprechen kann, darüber muß man schweigen.
MrHat
Terracotta Army

Out of the frying pan, into the fire.

Reply #1 on: December 09, 2006, 12:39:33 PM

I wonder if they won't charge $50 for a new game.

Oh wait, I don't have to wonder, the nature of money tells me otherwise.
schild
Administrator

Reply #2 on: December 09, 2006, 12:56:25 PM