Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 04:32:09 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
we're back, baby
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  General Discussion  |  Topic: Question for any web developers: J2EE/Websphere 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Question for any web developers: J2EE/Websphere  (Read 1946 times)
UD_Delt
Terracotta Army

on: June 17, 2004, 08:34:54 AM

Do any of you out there know anything about developing J2EE applications in Websphere? I just found out I'm going to be working on a project using these and I have no background in them whatsoever.

Any of you used these before and have any beginner oriented book or website recommendations?

Thanks.
Daeven
Terracotta Army

Reply #1 on: June 17, 2004, 12:49:50 PM

EVIL! Websphere doesn't fucking implement the J2EE 1.2 spec fully. It is an overpriced piece of crap that gets play because it is made by IBM.

Oh. If you want to do JMS?  You get to pay for IBM MQ.

Have a nice day and make certain you thank whomever is responsible for your misery often!

:)

"There is a technical term for someone who confuses the opinions of a character in a book with those of the author. That term is idiot." -SMStirling

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed, the hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning. It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion
Margalis
Terracotta Army

Reply #2 on: June 19, 2004, 12:16:30 AM

What type of J2EE app? That can mean a lot of things. What version of Websphere? 5?

If you know Java, I'm sure there are many good books on J2EE, I could ask around for a good one. Websphere is ok...not as easy as Weblogic. Depending on what you are doing it may not be any problem at all, other than that deployment is a bit annoying.