Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 06:34:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
we're back, baby
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  The Gaming Graveyard  |  Game Design/Development  |  Topic: Why are you so into CoH? 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Why are you so into CoH?  (Read 23492 times)
Matt
Developers

Iron Realms

on: April 30, 2004, 03:57:58 AM

I just don't get it. Granted, I'm not an expert, but since release I've played one Scrapper (Kid Patriot) to level 6 and one Blaster (Aurelius) to level 7. Perhaps I'm misunderstanding but this game seems to be the definition of catassing. Bashing the same boring thingies (most of which look basically the same and do the same things) over and over and over, and there is -nothing- beyond that in the game so far. It's like Everquest stripped down, with superhero skins. I mean, I'm having a good time myself, as I enjoy cheesy Marvel/DC-style superheros, but the tone of this board seems to be anti-basic-monster-bashing mechanics, and that is the sum of City of Heroes so far.

What is it you guys are liking/expected to like about it if you don't like catassing? Am I misunderstanding the definition of catassing? I mean, my hero throws an energy bolt or whatever and it's no different from a mage throwing a fireball or a Jedi throwing a lightning ball or whatever.

--matt

"And thus, they ate horseflesh as if it was venison, and they reckoned it most savory, for hunger served in the place of seasoning."
Soukyan
Terracotta Army

Reply #1 on: April 30, 2004, 04:46:24 AM

Quote from: Matt