Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 19, 2017, 06:32:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
Donate! | Subscribe! | Shop: Amazon

***DONATION DRIVE 2 HAS BEGUN:
CLICK HERE TO BURN MONEY***
*
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  General Discussion  |  Topic: IF YOU SEE THIS YOU ARE IN THE RIGHT PLACE 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: IF YOU SEE THIS YOU ARE IN THE RIGHT PLACE  (Read 3452 times)
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20510


Reply #35 on: May 19, 2017, 08:34:19 AM

Yeah there's still some DNS wonkiness going on. Wednesday I was no longer able to access the site from home but Thursday it was fine again. I blame Google.
Druzil
Terracotta Army
Posts: 434


Reply #36 on: May 19, 2017, 09:29:10 AM

The best change is clicking the top banner now takes me to the forum root and not to the home page.
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20510


Reply #37 on: May 19, 2017, 10:26:08 AM

We have a home page?
Jeff Kelly
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5006

I'm an apathetic, hedonistic, utilitarian, nihilistic existentialist.


Reply #38 on: May 20, 2017, 05:11:24 AM

Don't know what's changed but now it works again. Back to my regular walls of text I guess. why so serious?
Sir T
Terracotta Army
Posts: 10604


Reply #39 on: May 21, 2017, 07:39:41 AM

I didnt even notice that there was a change \O/

By the way, this forum is black with white text, I dunno what are these newfangled themes that you all are complaining about.

"I think its pretty troubling when a backyard decoration comes out swinging harder against Nazis than the President of the United States." Stephen Colbert
Jeff Kelly
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5006

I'm an apathetic, hedonistic, utilitarian, nihilistic existentialist.


Reply #40 on: May 22, 2017, 03:37:34 AM

Well now it's back to "server not found" again.

Could you please kick your ISP. They obviously don't know how to DNS. Also f13.net is not reachable via IPv6 (tracert -6) which is something that should not happen in 2017. Kick your ISP for that too.
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20510


Reply #41 on: May 22, 2017, 10:01:16 AM

Also f13.net is not reachable via IPv6 (tracert -6) which is something that should not happen in 2017. Kick your ISP for that too.
GoDaddy awesome, for real
apocrypha
Terracotta Army
Posts: 6710

Planes? Shit, I'm terrified to get in my car now!


Reply #42 on: May 22, 2017, 11:13:03 AM

The only issue I've had has been that embedded YouTube links don't work now, but it doesn't bother me because I always watch them in a separate Firefox tab anyway.

"Bourgeois society stands at the crossroads, either transition to socialism or regression into barbarism" - Rosa Luxemburg, 1915.
Jeff Kelly
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5006

I'm an apathetic, hedonistic, utilitarian, nihilistic existentialist.


Reply #43 on: May 22, 2017, 11:56:15 AM

Also f13.net is not reachable via IPv6 (tracert -6) which is something that should not happen in 2017. Kick your ISP for that too.
GoDaddy awesome, for real


Then kick them again for good measure  why so serious?
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20510


Reply #44 on: May 22, 2017, 12:05:23 PM

The only issue I've had has been that embedded YouTube links don't work now, but it doesn't bother me because I always watch them in a separate Firefox tab anyway.
Yeah my hacked in YouTube link pop up thingy is messed up at the moment.
Jeff Kelly
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5006

I'm an apathetic, hedonistic, utilitarian, nihilistic existentialist.


Reply #45 on: May 28, 2017, 07:33:13 AM

After about two weeks access to f13 is still very flaky. I can now access the site from all of my devices and both from my home internet and mobile internet. The site is inaccessible for hours each day though because of dns errors or server unreachable errors. Drop outs range from a few minutes to several hours and then everything seems to work again.

Sometimes access drops out literally in the middle of browsing or posting.
Brolan
Terracotta Army
Posts: 777


Reply #46 on: May 28, 2017, 09:31:33 AM

I get the "server not found" error on my iPhone when using cell data but not at home using wifi.  Rebooting the iPhone usually clears it up, but not always.
calapine
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4476

Solely responsible for the thread on "The Condom Wall."


Reply #47 on: May 28, 2017, 11:59:05 AM

Same issue as Jeff. F13 randomly blanks out, after working fine fine just a minute before.

Restoration is a perfectly valid school of magic!
Hawkbit
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4825

Like a Klansman in the ghetto.


Reply #48 on: May 28, 2017, 12:47:27 PM

I get the "server not found" error on my iPhone when using cell data but not at home using wifi.  Rebooting the iPhone usually clears it up, but not always.

I get this too, exactly this.
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20510


Reply #49 on: May 28, 2017, 02:49:59 PM

Yeah still haven't figured out why it's happening yet. When can get back on my regular comp I'll try increasing the DNS TTL which may make the problem occur less frequently.
calapine
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4476

Solely responsible for the thread on "The Condom Wall."


Reply #50 on: May 28, 2017, 03:33:14 PM

If it helps:

- It's definitely a DNS issue, as http://192.169.250.157/ always works
- It seems provider depended, the outages only happen my desktop connection, not with the mobile phone.

Restoration is a perfectly valid school of magic!
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20510


Reply #51 on: May 28, 2017, 05:51:49 PM

Which Is confusing  as DNS is served from the same server as the site. My best guess at the moment is Google or similar DNS service still has a few DNS servers with the wrong IP cached that refuse expire.
Torinak
Terracotta Army
Posts: 847


Reply #52 on: May 28, 2017, 06:55:05 PM

Is there any caching at the hosting ISP? GoDaddy's "website accelerator" that may need to be kicked or reset manually?

Is there any unusually large TTL set for the current DNS record, or was there in the past?

Is the apparent absence of an Start of Authority record causing problems?

For people who are having problems, what DNS server is being used? Things look OK when I use Comcast's (75.75.75.75) or Google's (8.8.8.8) DNS servers.
Jeff Kelly
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5006

I'm an apathetic, hedonistic, utilitarian, nihilistic existentialist.


Reply #53 on: May 28, 2017, 07:08:51 PM

I'm with T-Mobile Germany and Telekom Germany (same company) for mobile and landline internet. They use their own DNS servers but are rock solid and reliable most of the time. Didn't have any problems with them for over a decade.
Sir T
Terracotta Army
Posts: 10604


Reply #54 on: May 28, 2017, 11:17:03 PM

My filthy Irish Internet is having zero problems. I did about a month ago but its eased out fine.

"I think its pretty troubling when a backyard decoration comes out swinging harder against Nazis than the President of the United States." Stephen Colbert
lamaros
Terracotta Army
Posts: 7466


Reply #55 on: May 29, 2017, 08:37:10 AM

I had a minor problem here is aus yesterday from my mobile, never noticed before.

I haven't been visiting all the time though.

Expect poison from the standing water.
Merusk
Terracotta Army
Posts: 27260

Badge Whore


Reply #56 on: May 29, 2017, 08:38:01 AM

I get the "server not found" error on my iPhone when using cell data but not at home using wifi.  Rebooting the iPhone usually clears it up, but not always.

I get this too, exactly this.

I get exactly the opposite. WiFi won't find it, cellular will. Very weird.

I can't get past the panties - Alluvian
I really like the cocks. - Lantyssa
People rarely believe just how good I am at sucking. - Lantyssa
I love the swinging dongs - Signe
Brolan
Terracotta Army
Posts: 777


Reply #57 on: May 29, 2017, 01:18:12 PM

Is there any caching at the hosting ISP? GoDaddy's "website accelerator" that may need to be kicked or reset manually?

Is there any unusually large TTL set for the current DNS record, or was there in the past?

Is the apparent absence of an Start of Authority record causing problems?

For people who are having problems, what DNS server is being used? Things look OK when I use Comcast's (75.75.75.75) or Google's (8.8.8.8) DNS servers.

I'm using AT&T cellular but don't know how you can tell the DNS server when using the cell.
Raph
Developers
Posts: 1387

Title delayed while we "find the fun."


WWW
Reply #58 on: May 29, 2017, 01:35:16 PM

I've not had DNS issues from my desktop. I had a case yesterday when using it from my phone, where forums.f3.net did not resolve briefly.

But it still refuses to remember me being logged in, even with the "forever" option set.

Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20510


Reply #59 on: May 29, 2017, 04:23:44 PM

Might try deleting all f13.net and/or forums.f13.net cookies and making sure you are on forums.f13.net when signing in.
MrHat
Terracotta Army
Posts: 7324

Out of the frying pan, into the fire.


Reply #60 on: May 29, 2017, 05:01:18 PM

I love that Friday the 13th has a website called f13game dot com.
MahrinSkel
Terracotta Army
Posts: 9207

When she crossed over, she was just a ship. But when she came back... she was bullshit!


Reply #61 on: May 29, 2017, 06:28:49 PM

What was the origin of the f13 moniker, anyway?

--Dave

--Jello Biafra: "If evolution is outlawed, only outlaws will evolve."
schild
Administrator
Posts: 55486


WWW
Reply #62 on: May 29, 2017, 06:37:36 PM

What was the origin of the f13 moniker, anyway?

--Dave
It was the shortest domain name I owned at the time.
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20510


Reply #63 on: May 30, 2017, 09:13:23 AM

I changed some stuff in our DNS that may have been causing the issue. The changes, if they do fix the problem, should take effect for most people within 24 hours but some DNS resolvers, especially those used by cellular devices, don't honor TTLs so those may take longer.
Shannow
Terracotta Army
Posts: 3291


Reply #64 on: May 30, 2017, 02:17:48 PM

Looks like its working. I can waste time (I mean read quality content) from work again.

Someone liked something? Who the fuzzy fuck was this heretic? You don't come to this website and enjoy something. Fuck that. ~ The Walrus
Jeff Kelly
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5006

I'm an apathetic, hedonistic, utilitarian, nihilistic existentialist.


Reply #65 on: May 31, 2017, 06:10:34 PM

Seems to work now
Miguel
Terracotta Army
Posts: 826

कुशल


Reply #66 on: May 31, 2017, 09:12:31 PM

Any plans to switch to HTTPS?  It's helped on private forums I've run to prevent spambots and other man-in-the-middle shenanigans.

“We have competent people thinking about this stuff. We’re not just making shit up.” -Neil deGrasse Tyson
schild
Administrator
Posts: 55486


WWW
Reply #67 on: May 31, 2017, 11:24:27 PM

Well, I turned on admin required approval for all registration sooooo

Also, yes.
Severian
Terracotta Army
Posts: 449


Reply #68 on: June 02, 2017, 10:06:42 AM

This is nothing serious like DNS problems, but something which has changed is that opening a page on f13 using Firefox now creates a blank white page "flash" briefly before loading the new page. Maybe I'm getting more light-sensitive in my dotage, but repeated darkmode-blindme-darkmode has bugged me enough that I now open everything here in new tabs. I get it on both home & work PCs, Windows 7 & 10. Looks like it doesn't happen in Chrome.
Hawkbit
Terracotta Army
Posts: 4825

Like a Klansman in the ghetto.


Reply #69 on: June 02, 2017, 10:23:09 AM

I'm not seeing that issue - do you have any addons installed? I do notice a brief white flash during the login process, but not on page load.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Up Print 
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  General Discussion  |  Topic: IF YOU SEE THIS YOU ARE IN THE RIGHT PLACE  
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC