Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 12:29:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
we're back, baby
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  The Gaming Graveyard  |  Game Design/Development  |  Topic: Learning about design 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Learning about design  (Read 7539 times)
Hawkbit
Terracotta Army

Like a Klansman in the ghetto.

on: May 12, 2009, 02:34:42 PM

I'm not a designer but I want to learn more about game design.  What books/resources can you recommend to an advanced player but neophyte designer?  I don't have a desire (or time) to create games at this point, but I want to learn more about the process and lingo involved. 

I've got a couple on order, such as Koster's A Theory of Fun and The Ecology of Games which is a recent publication of articles on the subject.  Any others you can think of for someone beginning to think about games?
NiX
Wiki Admin

Locomotive Pandamonium

Reply #1 on: May 12, 2009, 03:10:33 PM

...Koster's A Theory of Fun ...
I think some will make fun of you for this.

Read Gamasutra. There are some articles that really touch on the deeper parts of design and development. Don't know of many other resources though.
Azaroth
Terracotta Army

Reply #2 on: May 12, 2009, 06:38:10 PM

There are things to learn about design?

F  is inviting you to start Quarto. Do you want to Accept (Alt+C) or Decline (Alt+D) the invitation?

You have accepted the invitation to start Quarto.

F  says:
don't know what this is
Az  says:
I think it's like
Az  says:
where we pour milk on the stomach alien from total recall
Soln
Terracotta Army

the opportunity for evil is just delicious

Reply #3 on: May 12, 2009, 10:03:14 PM

Mrbloodworth
Terracotta Army

Reply #4 on: May 13, 2009, 08:51:30 AM