Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2017, 02:00:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
Donate! | Subscribe! | Shop: Amazon

***DONATION DRIVE 2 HAS BEGUN:
CLICK HERE TO BURN MONEY***
*
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  PC/Console Gaming  |  Topic: Quick [tech] Questions Thread 0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
Pages: 1 ... 111 112 [113] 114 115 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Quick [tech] Questions Thread  (Read 313755 times)
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20250


Reply #3920 on: January 05, 2017, 11:50:40 AM

Did you check your BIOS for any audio settings? I.e. did it disable your Realtek audio in your BIOS when you installed the video card?
Ironwood
Terracotta Army
Posts: 25958


Reply #3921 on: January 05, 2017, 12:25:20 PM

Checked and no.  Updated the bios also, no joy.

"Mr Soft Owl has Seen Some Shit." - Sun Tzu
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20250


Reply #3922 on: January 05, 2017, 04:36:52 PM

Did you try deleting (not just disabling) the NVIDIA audio drivers?
MahrinSkel
Terracotta Army
Posts: 8956


Reply #3923 on: January 05, 2017, 05:31:41 PM

Weird, I just had to fix a computer with the opposite problem: It refused to output audio through the HDMI via the video card sound chipset. Had to uninstall the inboard audio and the video card drivers completely, then install the reference drivers for both (not the ones from the card/mobo manufacturers, but the ones straight from RealTek and NVidia).

--Dave

--Jello Biafra: "If evolution is outlawed, only outlaws will evolve."
JRave
Terracotta Army
Posts: 44


Reply #3924 on: January 05, 2017, 09:33:58 PM

This has been an on and off issue with Nvidia and Realtek for 5+ years now.  I had it happen to me once, but I can't recall how I fixed it.  I do know I don't use HDMI currently, so that might be how it fixed itself.  I also have nvidia audio disabled in the device manager.

I can make one minor suggestion to test via bios.  Go into the Bios and disable onboard sound and then enable it.  Reboot and see if that fixed things.  Apparently it is common for onboard sound to get disabled via bios, however the way nvidia's driver/install does things doesn't always display properly in the different types of bios.

Oh and make sure the onboard sound in bios is not set to "auto" if your bios has that option.  That can disable onboard sound when pci-e graphics is enabled in bios.  Really weird interactions with things, and it always seems to point back to Nvidia's drivers doing something you would not assume they are doing.
Ironwood
Terracotta Army
Posts: 25958


Reply #3925 on: January 10, 2017, 12:53:12 PM

More a warning than anything else ;  don't ever use the @Bios updater.  It fucks things.

Be Smart.  Boot into Bios and use USB rather than a shortcut.  Shortcuts suck balls.

"Mr Soft Owl has Seen Some Shit." - Sun Tzu
Kail
Terracotta Army
Posts: 2739


Reply #3926 on: January 14, 2017, 01:57:28 AM

Been having some really weird issues with my wireless internet for a few weeks now, wondering if I need a new modem or what.

The thing works fine when I switch the computer on, then after a while it tells me there's no available connections detected and I'm dumped in to offline mode.  I can switch off my wi-fi and switch it back on and it works again, but typically goes offline again after 10 min or so.  When it's online, the signal strength never looks bad, I'm only about 15 feet from the router.  It just jumps straight from "good" to "none" and stays there, sometimes for a few seconds, sometimes for a few hours.

Resetting the router doesn't seem to do anything helpful, and I haven't noticed this happening with my phone even when it's right next to the computer, so I suspect the issue is with something in the computer itself (meaning, my problem) rather than a problem with something somewhere farther down the line (meaning, the cable company's problem).  Other people have complained about the wireless being flaky, though, so I don't know how much is just them complaining and how much is an indicator that it IS something to call the cable company about.  People using computers wired in to the network claim it works fine for them, so it looks like if there is an issue, it looks like a wireless only thing.

Any advice?  Something obvious I'm missing?  Some driver to update?  A windows diagnostic tool that returns a result other than "shrug"?
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20250


Reply #3927 on: January 14, 2017, 10:31:13 AM

Need to know your PC's wireless adapter, your phone model and your wireless router model. Also is your router broacasting multiple SSIDs? It's possible one of the antennas on the wireless router or your wireless adapter is going bad. If your phone uses a different antenna that may explain why it's not losing its connection.
Torinak
Terracotta Army
Posts: 758


Reply #3928 on: January 14, 2017, 03:46:55 PM

Any advice?  Something obvious I'm missing?  Some driver to update?  A windows diagnostic tool that returns a result other than "shrug"?

If you're using Windows 10, it has incredibly flaky wireless support. Between bad default drivers and buggy "helper" software (WiFi Sense), my partner was about ready to run a 100' cable through the house so she could actually use the Internet. Eventually, a combination of scrubbing and reinstalling drivers, disabling WiFi Sense, and tweaking every power-saving feature to try to keep Windows 10 from powering down the wifi adapter fixed it.
ezrast
Terracotta Army
Posts: 1913


WWW
Reply #3929 on: January 15, 2017, 01:02:07 AM

Our legacy Dropbox Public folders are going away later this year. I can't find any other way to get image links that work on the forums inline. Do any of the Dropbox alternatives out there do this better? Is OwnCloud any good, assuming I have access to a VPS and lots of free time? I don't strictly need anything fancier than an FTP bucket on a static hosting service, but that requires a lot more clicks per image than Dropbox currently.
schild
Administrator
Posts: 54240


WWW
Reply #3930 on: January 15, 2017, 03:12:42 PM

Yea I'm pretty upset about this Dropbox change. :(
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20250


Reply #3931 on: January 15, 2017, 03:30:48 PM

Huh.

For here I would just switch to imgur.com. OwnCloud may work depending on the size of your VPS but it's work to setup.

Edit: the only trick now with imgur.com is you need to right-click or otherwise get the real URL of your upload image to paste that into here cause they don't display that now after you upload the image(s).

E.g. here's an Imgur image from the Warframe subreddit.

http://imgur.com/IuJJrl4

If you go to the above URL and right-click on the image and copy the image URL you get:

http://i.imgur.com/IuJJrl4.jpg

and that's what you would use here.

« Last Edit: January 15, 2017, 03:38:24 PM by Trippy »
Torinak
Terracotta Army
Posts: 758


Reply #3932 on: January 15, 2017, 03:48:27 PM

Can we be sure to not end up hotlinking imgur's malware?
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20250


Reply #3933 on: January 15, 2017, 04:02:15 PM

The .jpg link is just the JPEG file -- not an Imgur HTML page which may or may not have any popups or ad iframes.

Of course you still have to risk using Imgur to upload the file and get the image link in the first place.
Kail
Terracotta Army
Posts: 2739


Reply #3934 on: January 16, 2017, 07:31:21 PM

Need to know your PC's wireless adapter, your phone model and your wireless router model. Also is your router broacasting multiple SSIDs? It's possible one of the antennas on the wireless router or your wireless adapter is going bad. If your phone uses a different antenna that may explain why it's not losing its connection.

The router is broadcasting two SSIDs, one normal one and one 5G one that the mobiles tap in to.  I hadn't realized that they were separate physical systems.  The phone seems to connect OK to either one, but the PC can't see the 5G one.  Not sure if the phone is having trouble on the non-5G network or not, it seems to switch back and forth whenever it loses signal.

The wireless router I'm not sure about, it's either an Arris TM602G/115 or a Morotola SBG6782-HH.  I suspect the Motorola because that's the one with the network SSIDs written on it.  This stuff is pretty much in my "someone else's problem" box so if I can't get this sorted out I might break down and just call a tech.

PC Wireless looks like a Broadcom BCM43142, the phone is a SM-N900W8 (Samsung Galaxy Note 3).

Updating the driver software again as I post this.  If that doesn't work, I'll try disabling WiFi Sense, and then a call to tech support if there's still issues.  Thanks for the advice!
Torinak
Terracotta Army
Posts: 758


Reply #3935 on: January 16, 2017, 09:04:18 PM

The wireless router I'm not sure about, it's either an Arris TM602G/115 or a Morotola SBG6782-HH.  I suspect the Motorola because that's the one with the network SSIDs written on it.  This stuff is pretty much in my "someone else's problem" box so if I can't get this sorted out I might break down and just call a tech.

Many Arris cable modems released since 2008 (!!!) have remote-exploit vulnerabilities baked into them unless you updated the firmware after mid-2016.



Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 28911

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #3936 on: January 16, 2017, 11:26:59 PM

A pox on Dropbox. We should all go out of our way to badmouth them for this one.

It was a good run and they were the best no-bullshit image host. My blog is about to be shut down, since the last 5 years of images is about to go bye bye. Guess how happy I am about that? I guess it's finally time to host up, since it's starting to get all businessy lately.

Do they really think this is going to get people to buy in somehow? I hope it's worth the massive amount of ill will they're bringing on themselves.

Because fuuuuuck dropbox. It's the new Flikr!

Bungee
Terracotta Army
Posts: 715


Reply #3937 on: January 17, 2017, 07:29:41 AM

A pox on Dropbox. We should all go out of our way to badmouth them for this one.

No shit, my GFs office uses Dropbox for basically all their documents (I know...) and everything is gone now. No event logs, nothing. Folders just gone. And you of course have to file a ticket and wait for at least 3 workdays to get an answer...

Freedom is the raid target. -tazelbain
Viin
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5929


Reply #3938 on: January 17, 2017, 09:16:20 AM

What's this? Some kind of file age restriction for free accounts?

- Viin
Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 28911

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #3939 on: January 17, 2017, 10:51:53 AM

Quote
We’re always looking to improve the Dropbox sharing experience. The Public folder was the first sharing method we introduced, and since then, we’ve built even better ways for you to share securely and work together with your team.

As a result, we’ll soon be ending support for the Public folder. Dropbox Basic users will be able to use the Public folder until March 15, 2017. After that date the files in your Public folder will become private, and links to these files will be deactivated. Your files will remain safe in Dropbox.

If you’d like to keep sharing files in your Public folder, you can create new shared links. Just make sure to send the new URLs to your collaborators.

In addition to shared links, we have a number of sharing options designed to make collaboration easier and give you more control. To learn more, visit our Help Center.

The Dropbox team
My read is that they want any link to go to their page, rather than just be an image host. They've been moving toward being a collaborative platform for a while now. Which is fine, but taking a dump on your early supporters kinda sucks. Flikr did exactly the same thing when Yahoo bought them out, there was a way to actually link to the naked image iirc, but it was a pita and not worth it.

Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20250


Reply #3940 on: January 17, 2017, 11:32:57 AM

Flickr.
Merusk
Terracotta Army
Posts: 26557

Badge Whore


Reply #3941 on: January 17, 2017, 11:44:14 AM

A pox on Dropbox. We should all go out of our way to badmouth them for this one.

No shit, my GFs office uses Dropbox for basically all their documents (I know...) and everything is gone now. No event logs, nothing. Folders just gone. And you of course have to file a ticket and wait for at least 3 workdays to get an answer...

That sounds completely different than what's being discussed. I'm surprised nobody had a local backup either. My office uses Dropbox as well and if we wiped it accidentally or Dropbox did one of us traveling shlubs would have a backup to restore even if the web restore had somehow been wiped. 

Sounds more like someone was acting maliciously at her company.

I can't get past the panties - Alluvian
I really like the cocks. - Lantyssa
People rarely believe just how good I am at sucking. - Lantyssa
I love the swinging dongs - Signe
apocrypha
Terracotta Army
Posts: 6654

Planes? Shit, I'm terrified to get in my car now!


Reply #3942 on: January 18, 2017, 12:56:45 AM

For simple image hosting is there anything wrong with Imgur? I stopped using dropbox for that kind of thing ages ago because their links regularly fucked up, it got harder and harder to direct link to files and Imgur is quick and easy.

"Bourgeois society stands at the crossroads, either transition to socialism or regression into barbarism" - Rosa Luxemburg, 1915.
Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 28911

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #3943 on: January 18, 2017, 07:42:30 AM

I like Dropbox's folder layout and UI in general. It's really easy to do the simple things I need to do and keep everything organized.

I don't know why you'd find it hard to direct link to dropbox images, it's literally a button to pop up the url.

Bungee
Terracotta Army
Posts: 715


Reply #3944 on: January 20, 2017, 01:52:50 PM

No shit, my GFs office uses Dropbox for basically all their documents (I know...) and everything is gone now. No event logs, nothing. Folders just gone. And you of course have to file a ticket and wait for at least 3 workdays to get an answer...
*snip*
Sounds more like someone was acting maliciously at her company.

Nah, it's a lot more... incompetence than maliciousness. It's a non-profit where nobody knows how "any of this" works. Even their IT guy made me want to punch him when I heard what "actions" he took.

Freedom is the raid target. -tazelbain
Abagadro
Terracotta Army
Posts: 10845

Possibly the only user with more posts in the Den than PC/Console Gaming.


Reply #3945 on: January 25, 2017, 07:23:58 PM

Since I built my new rig it doesn't want to find the printer hooked up to the router.   I try to search for it in settings and it just won't come up. 

"As democracy is perfected, the office of president represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart's desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron.”

-H.L. Mencken
Rendakor
Terracotta Army
Posts: 8621


Reply #3946 on: January 25, 2017, 07:39:28 PM

Download the drivers for it manually?

Check out my podcast: ADD&D, Attention Deficit Dungeons & Dragons!
"I think it's time for a dose of F13 RED PILL MOTHER FUCKERS" ~cosapi
Abagadro
Terracotta Army
Posts: 10845

Possibly the only user with more posts in the Den than PC/Console Gaming.


Reply #3947 on: January 25, 2017, 08:02:34 PM

Meh, figured it out. Needed to tell it the IP address.

"As democracy is perfected, the office of president represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart's desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron.”

-H.L. Mencken
Merusk
Terracotta Army
Posts: 26557

Badge Whore


Reply #3948 on: January 26, 2017, 12:20:07 PM

I have a new job. I am now an IP Manager, meaning I'm overseeing development of software addins for my company. (Yay managers who can't code.)

I have a need of a helpfile-writing software now. I nabbed a copy of HelpNDoc which my the VP over me used years ago and he's wondering if there's a freeware/ cheaper/ different thing out there now. Any suggestions from you code monkeys?

I can't get past the panties - Alluvian
I really like the cocks. - Lantyssa
People rarely believe just how good I am at sucking. - Lantyssa
I love the swinging dongs - Signe
Father mike
Terracotta Army
Posts: 320


Reply #3949 on: January 26, 2017, 01:31:02 PM

I used RoboHelp for about 3 years in the 90s  ACK!

It was simple and good back then, but not cheap.  No idea if that has changed in the last ... [oh, christ!] 20 years.

Edit: Looks like it got gobbled up by Adobe along the way.  So now I know it's not cheap.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2017, 01:34:21 PM by Father mike »

I would like to thank Vladimir Putin for ensuring that every member of the NPR news staff has had to say "Pussy Riot" on the air multiple times.
schild
Administrator
Posts: 54240


WWW
Reply #3950 on: February 04, 2017, 10:10:59 AM

Made a post about NASes like ten pages back. Finally ended up getting a WD PR4100 16TB as it has acceleration and can run a Plex server with multiple streams.
Phildo
Contributor
Posts: 5089


Reply #3951 on: February 14, 2017, 08:33:02 AM

Does anyone have experience administering an office with multiple Macs?  It's been a nightmare juggling Apple IDs lately and I haven't been able to find a solution other than having an individual one for each system.
Merusk
Terracotta Army
Posts: 26557

Badge Whore


Reply #3952 on: February 14, 2017, 08:43:26 AM

That's how we did it as it was the easiest way. I'm sure surly or samwise or sky might have different opinions.

I can't get past the panties - Alluvian
I really like the cocks. - Lantyssa
People rarely believe just how good I am at sucking. - Lantyssa
I love the swinging dongs - Signe
Sky
Terracotta Army
Posts: 28911

I love my TV an' hug my TV an' call it 'George'.


WWW
Reply #3953 on: February 14, 2017, 09:38:17 AM

Not sure why you need individual Apple IDs? I use one to install core software for people.

We just use local users, but their server software is cheap and easy to set up network users.

Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 20250


Reply #3954 on: February 16, 2017, 02:15:43 PM

Pages: 1 ... 111 112 [113] 114 115 Go Up Print 
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  PC/Console Gaming  |  Topic: Quick [tech] Questions Thread  
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC