Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 24, 2021, 09:04:58 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
*
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  Gaming  |  Topic: Ok, help this newb with his first build 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Ok, help this newb with his first build  (Read 12776 times)
Abagadro
Terracotta Army
Posts: 12133

Possibly the only user with more posts in the Den than PC/Console Gaming.


on: July 28, 2005, 05:51:39 PM

This is what I'm looking at right now.  First build (although added peripherals and things like RAM in the past).  I actually don't play much in the way of "games" any more so this box will mainly be used for playing poker with all sorts of database apps running at the smae time (and need it to be able to dual/multi-monitor when I get up to that).

Anyways, here it is. Any comments appreciated:


KINGWIN MTX425SW Silver/Gray Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 420W Power Supply - Retail
Model #:  MTX425SW

SOLTEK SL-K890Pro-939 Socket 939 VIA K8T890 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Model #:  SL-K890Pro-939

PNY VCG6600GXPB Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail
Model #:  VCG6600GXPB

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester Integrated into Chip FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3200BIBOX - Retail
Model #:  ADA3200BIBOX

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model VS1GBKIT400 - Retail
Model #:  VS1GBKIT400

SAMSUNG Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Windows 98SE/ ME/ 2000/ XP - OEM
Model #:  SFD321B/LBL1

Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA NCQ ST3160827AS 160GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM
Model #:  ST3160827AS

NEC Black IDE DVD Burner Model ND-3540A - OEM
Model #:  ND-3540A Black

Microsoft Windows XP HOME Edition With Service Pack 2 - OEM
Model #:  N09-01152

Cost before shipping, etc.:  845.92

"As democracy is perfected, the office of president represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart's desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron.”

-H.L. Mencken
Krakrok
Terracotta Army
Posts: 2185


Reply #1 on: July 28, 2005, 06:38:16 PM


Dell has their 19inch LCDs for $211 right now.
Evangolis
Contributor
Posts: 1220


Reply #2 on: July 28, 2005, 06:41:21 PM

I'm a bit out of date on my hardware these lately, but nothing there looks too odd to me.  I prefer XP Pro to XP Home, myself.  What do you have for a UPS to protect that new box?

"It was a difficult party" - an unexpected word combination from ex-Merry Prankster and author Robert Stone.
Miasma
Terracotta Army
Posts: 5283

Stopgap Measure


Reply #3 on: July 28, 2005, 07:26:19 PM

That looks like a solid system.  All I can suggest is maybe spend an extra ten bucks on one of these for all the flash memory connections.  And I don't typically trust the no name power supplies that come with some cases,  I would buy a seperate psu from a good brand.

Oh, and before installing the hard drives and Windows I would update your bios with the latest version.
Strazos
Greetings from the Slave Coast
Posts: 15538

The World's Worst Game: Curry or Covid


Reply #4 on: July 28, 2005, 08:13:46 PM

XP Pro.

That is all.

Fear the Backstab!
"Plato said the virtuous man is at all times ready for a grammar snake attack." - we are lesion
"Hell is other people." -Sartre
Ralence
Terracotta Army
Posts: 114


Reply #5 on: July 28, 2005, 09:12:57 PM

  If you're not completely set on building one yourself, almost the exact same CPU you're building is on sale at Best Buy for $449, with a monitor included; http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=7292921&type=product&id=1118840994749

  The differences seem to be, 512meg less ram, and the ATI card instead of GeForce.  I'd imagine you can upgrade both and be under your cost before shipping in your example, and get a free monitor/kb/mouse in the deal, with none of the "fuck i fried the mb" issues you're potentially facing.

  I know eMachines is the AMD branch of Gateway, so the company is reliable.

  It is back-to-school season after all, you can probably snag a pretty sweet deal if you don't have your heart set on building it all yourself.  The catch seems to be they're just not going to let you order it online, and you'll have to visit a local BB to grab one.

  Normally I build my comps myself, but I never upgrade as much as you're doing at one shot, so for me it saves money.  Using same dvd-rom, dvd-burner, video cards, soundcards, network cards, hard drives, case/ps etc, though the switch to PCIe did force me to spend a lot more this year than I normally do.

  Just something to think about





Abagadro
Terracotta Army
Posts: 12133

Possibly the only user with more posts in the Den than PC/Console Gaming.


Reply #6 on: July 28, 2005, 09:20:30 PM

Hmmm.  I usually don't like buying comps from national companies (last few have been a local company and I like their machines but can build one at 2/3 the price that they will).  I usually want the option to upgrade and I know they have a lot of integrated stuff.

Anyone have any history with eMachines? 

I don't need the monitor (just got a Dell 2001fp 20.1" which is  Heart. I wonder if they would up the RAM to a gig or 1.5 gigs if I dropped the monitor.

"As democracy is perfected, the office of president represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart's desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron.”

-H.L. Mencken
schild
Administrator
Posts: 59618


WWW
Reply #7 on: July 28, 2005, 09:23:42 PM

eMachines used to be trash. Now it's not.

You're absolutely fine buying the eMachine. They probably won't upgrade if you drop the monitor, it's a package deal, but if you bitch and moan enough they might drop the price $50 or something.
Flashman
Terracotta Army
Posts: 185


Reply #8 on: July 28, 2005, 10:05:09 PM


 I wonder if they would up the RAM to a gig or 1.5 gigs if I dropped the monitor.

Don't make the same mistake I did. I ordered 3 sticks of 512MB with my new computer I ordered from ABS a while back. I didn't know anything about RAM and the sales guy I talked to apparently didnt either or didnt care. After running some tests I found out my PC ran faster with 2 sticks of 512MB than with the 3 sticks. Something to do with "dual-channel" memory. I don't know too much about it but something you might want to look into.

I did recently upgrade to 2 1GB sticks and its definitely worth it.
pants
Terracotta Army
Posts: 586


Reply #9 on: July 29, 2005, 12:26:22 AM

XP Pro.

That is all.

Why?  I thought that the advantages XP Pro had over home were things that you would only use in a big office corporate environment - fancy networking tools and user profiles and stuff like that.  Why would you choose Pro for a Home machine?

(and I'm not being sarky - I'm honestly curious about why youd pick Pro for a home machine).
Strazos
Greetings from the Slave Coast
Posts: 15538

The World's Worst Game: Curry or Covid


Reply #10 on: July 29, 2005, 01:07:27 AM

Well, I don't know Exactly how Ab is goin to be using his machine, but in short:

Pro is better for networking, especially for browsing other drives on the network.

Pro is more stable.

Pro is more customizable.

Pro is more secure.

Pro is more stable, more stable, more stable.

I fucking hate using machines with Home, but that's just me.

Fear the Backstab!
"Plato said the virtuous man is at all times ready for a grammar snake attack." - we are lesion
"Hell is other people." -Sartre
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 22736


Reply #11 on: July 29, 2005, 02:16:27 AM

Pro is more stable.

Pro is more customizable.

Pro is more secure.

Pro is more stable, more stable, more stable.
Wrong, wrong, true theortically but not in practice, and wrong/wrong/wrong. :-D

The kernel and core of XP Home is identical to XP Pro -- there is no difference in stability between identical XP Home and XP Pro setups. Here's a summary of differences between XP Home and XP Pro:

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/home/howtobuy/choosing2.mspx

If you have more than one PC at home I would recommend getting XP Pro just for the Remote Desktop feature unless you already have a similar program like pcAnywhere. If it's going to be your only PC then it's sort of a tossup unless you are planning on getting a dual core CPU in the future in which case you'll need XP Pro.
Strazos
Greetings from the Slave Coast
Posts: 15538

The World's Worst Game: Curry or Covid


Reply #12 on: July 29, 2005, 02:36:25 AM

Lies I tell you, LIES!

I use to get crashes here and there with Home, but have never had a system crash with Pro.

Not a single one*.




*Programs can crash sometimes, due to bugs. I'm not counting those.

Fear the Backstab!
"Plato said the virtuous man is at all times ready for a grammar snake attack." - we are lesion
"Hell is other people." -Sartre
stray
Terracotta Army
Posts: 16818

has an iMac.


Reply #13 on: July 29, 2005, 02:41:03 AM

Do not argue with Trippy. I didn't know until now, but he is an Ent.

He's right though. XP Pro merely adds surface features. Same OS otherwise.
Strazos
Greetings from the Slave Coast
Posts: 15538

The World's Worst Game: Curry or Covid


Reply #14 on: July 29, 2005, 02:43:30 AM

Well, I sure as hell know that I am not imagining that I couldn't do LAN games using Home, or that my system runs better overall with Pro.

Fear the Backstab!
"Plato said the virtuous man is at all times ready for a grammar snake attack." - we are lesion
"Hell is other people." -Sartre
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 22736


Reply #15 on: July 29, 2005, 02:49:23 AM

KINGWIN MTX425SW Silver/Gray Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 420W Power Supply - Retail
That case uses 80 mm fans which are noiser than 120 mm ones so if noise is an issue that may be a problem. Also most of the power supplies in lower end cases aren't that good. It should be good enough to power what you've selected but you may have problems in the future if you want to add other stuff (another HD, more RAM, a more powerful video card, etc.).

Quote
SOLTEK SL-K890Pro-939 Socket 939 VIA K8T890 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
The chipset on that motherboard is one of the older ones for the Athlon 64. You can read a comparison of the various chipsets here:

http://techreport.com/reviews/2005q2/a64-chipsets/index.x?pg=1

If the database applications you are running are doing a lot of transactions per second you may want to consider getting a motherboard that supports NCQ to go along with your NCQ-enabled hard drive:

http://techreport.com/reviews/2004q4/seagate-7200.7ncq/index.x?pg=1

Quote
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester Integrated into Chip FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3200BIBOX - Retail
Model #:  ADA3200BIBOX
You should try to get the Venice version of this chip, model# ADA3200BPBOX, if it's roughly the same price. You won't get any performance improvement but its the latest revision (rev E) which is (usually) a good thing.

Quote
CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model VS1GBKIT400 - Retail
Model #:  VS1GBKIT400
If you can afford it I would recommend getting 2 GB of RAM since among other things you will be running database applications.
Hanzii
Terracotta Army
Posts: 729


Reply #16 on: July 29, 2005, 03:11:23 AM

Well, I sure as hell know that I am not imagining that I couldn't do LAN games using Home, or that my system runs better overall with Pro.

Part of growing up should be stopping to argue against facts with personal experience.

(considering the number of closeminded old people I know, this isn't true... but there's still hope for you)


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
I would like to discuss this more with you, but I'm not allowed to post in Politics anymore.

Bruce
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 22736


Reply #17 on: July 29, 2005, 03:15:57 AM

Do not argue with Trippy. I didn't know until now, but he is an Ent.
I'm old but not *that* old.
stray
Terracotta Army
Posts: 16818

has an iMac.


Reply #18 on: July 29, 2005, 03:19:13 AM

Do not argue with Trippy. I didn't know until now, but he is an Ent.
I'm old but not *that* old.


Oh, I don't mean you're "old" old  smiley. You're wise man, just wise.
penfold
Terracotta Army
Posts: 1017


Reply #19 on: July 29, 2005, 04:31:42 AM

Id go for a different MB, any of the DFIs in your price range ? Dont get a Winchester, get a Venice or San Diego with SSE3 etc.

Whats the make of the PSU in the case? No point in building a nice pc with a cheap power supply, they are more important than you would think.

What does 850 get you at dell ?

Yegolev
Moderator
Posts: 24440

2/10 WOULD NOT INGEST


WWW
Reply #20 on: July 29, 2005, 08:31:21 AM

I use XP Pro on my home rig and on my corp laptop.  Something went flaky with my corp laptop and I kept getting discoed from the LAN.  Three different locations, one in a different building across the street, invalidating cables or switches as suspects.  I did not get a disco at home, though, tunnelling through a VLAN.  The thing that finally fixed it was a new disk with a new OS image.  I would guess that I made a bad registry change somewhere, but I'm an AIX specialist, not DOS.

There you have a personal anecdote which counters other personal anecdotes that Pro is more stable.  There are too many things that can go wrong in a modern OS, so while we know something is wrong in both these cases, we can't say what it is.  Not without hardcore forensics, but who does that?

Why am I homeless?  Why do all you motherfuckers need homes is the real question.
They called it The Prayer, its answer was law
Mommy come back 'cause the water's all gone
OcellotJenkins
Terracotta Army
Posts: 429


Reply #21 on: July 29, 2005, 09:31:51 AM

Looks good, but I highly recommend the following changes:

- ASUS "deluxe" socket 939 motherboard.  There are a couple to choose from and neither is much more expensive.  You'll appreciate the reliability and extra features down the road.

- Get yourself a Zalman "flower" style CPU cooler.  These things are super duper quiet and well worth the $30 or so.

- Make sure the power supply is a good quality one.  I prefer Seasonic myself but there are many good ones out there.  Don't settle for a cheapy that comes with a case.

Overall though, this will be a kick ass system that I'm sure you'll be very happy with for years to come.
Lt.Dan
Terracotta Army
Posts: 758


Reply #22 on: July 29, 2005, 11:38:33 AM

I too am a tech noob who just did a similar system build.

I'll also jump on the 'go for 2Gb memory' bandwagon - lots of small speed improvements that make life easier.  If you don't feel the need, I'd go 1x1gb stick instead of 2x512Mb just for the flexibility in future upgrades.  The ASUS m'board I went with could do 1 stick, 2 matched sticks, or 4 matched sticks (my not knowing this is more than likely my noobishness but I'm glad I went 2 sticks).
sarius
Terracotta Army
Posts: 548


Reply #23 on: July 29, 2005, 12:01:48 PM

Looks good, but I highly recommend the following changes:

- ASUS "deluxe" socket 939 motherboard.  There are a couple to choose from and neither is much more expensive.  You'll appreciate the reliability and extra features down the road.


Looking to build a new box, soon.  I've heard a few good comments on the ASUS board you mentioned.  Care to expand on anything you've personally experienced?

It's always our desire to control that leads to injustice and inequity. -- Mary Gordon
“Call it amnesty, call it a banana if you want to, but it’s earned citizenship.” -- John McCain (still learning English apparently)
sarius
Terracotta Army
Posts: 548


Reply #24 on: July 29, 2005, 12:04:54 PM

Well, I sure as hell know that I am not imagining that I couldn't do LAN games using Home, or that my system runs better overall with Pro.

Part of growing up should be stopping to argue against facts with personal experience.

(considering the number of closeminded old people I know, this isn't true... but there's still hope for you)



As part of my job, I get to play network admin for a large development group.  I know we should have lots of evidence sheets, but all I know is everytime someone brings me a XP Home build to configure for X development environment I run into many many conflicts, especially on anything to do with stack interaction.  Personally, I'd alway blow the extra $40 on XP Pro for less headaches.

It's always our desire to control that leads to injustice and inequity. -- Mary Gordon
“Call it amnesty, call it a banana if you want to, but it’s earned citizenship.” -- John McCain (still learning English apparently)
Strazos
Greetings from the Slave Coast
Posts: 15538

The World's Worst Game: Curry or Covid


Reply #25 on: July 29, 2005, 12:17:52 PM

Looks good, but I highly recommend the following changes:

- ASUS "deluxe" socket 939 motherboard.  There are a couple to choose from and neither is much more expensive.  You'll appreciate the reliability and extra features down the road.


Looking to build a new box, soon.  I've heard a few good comments on the ASUS board you mentioned.  Care to expand on anything you've personally experienced?

Again, personal experience, but neither I, nor anyone I know, have ever had problems with an Asus board.

Fear the Backstab!
"Plato said the virtuous man is at all times ready for a grammar snake attack." - we are lesion
"Hell is other people." -Sartre
Hanzii
Terracotta Army
Posts: 729


Reply #26 on: July 29, 2005, 03:36:54 PM

I've heard nothing but good things about ASUS boards.
My next will be an ASUS - I used to go for MSI and has always had great experiences... untill I stumbled over a $150 Zalman watercooling system, that I can't install on my current system, because my MSI (AMD Athlon) board doesn't have the four holes for CPU coolers that every other fucking manufacturer use. Bastards.

I've just tested the NEC 3540 and it's the fastest around, but it did have trouble with burning some 8x Verbatim dvd's at more than half speed. I used to have the NEC 2500 and that had trouble reading disk I'd burned with the same drive, so besides the high speeds (that only expensive media supports anyway), I'm wary of NEC.
Plextor has a new drive, that's almost as fast and very reliable - the NEC 2500 was exchanged for the earlier Plextor 712A which has none of the toubles experienced with the NEC... and it's quiter too.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
I would like to discuss this more with you, but I'm not allowed to post in Politics anymore.

Bruce
schild
Administrator
Posts: 59618


WWW
Reply #27 on: July 29, 2005, 03:38:07 PM

Plextor's are great. I use a SONY DRU-500A that works well and I have it connected to two computers at once (has 2 firewire and one USB2.0), it's good stuff.
Strazos
Greetings from the Slave Coast
Posts: 15538

The World's Worst Game: Curry or Covid


Reply #28 on: July 29, 2005, 07:15:27 PM

I use a Pioneer slot-load DVD drive, and a Samsung burner.

Have had problems with neither drive.

Fear the Backstab!
"Plato said the virtuous man is at all times ready for a grammar snake attack." - we are lesion
"Hell is other people." -Sartre
Trippy
Administrator
Posts: 22736


Reply #29 on: July 29, 2005, 11:38:46 PM

I'll also jump on the 'go for 2Gb memory' bandwagon - lots of small speed improvements that make life easier.  If you don't feel the need, I'd go 1x1gb stick instead of 2x512Mb just for the flexibility in future upgrades.  The ASUS m'board I went with could do 1 stick, 2 matched sticks, or 4 matched sticks (my not knowing this is more than likely my noobishness but I'm glad I went 2 sticks).
You'll won't get the dual channel performance improvement if you start with a single stick.
JoeTF
Terracotta Army
Posts: 657


Reply #30 on: July 30, 2005, 06:49:52 AM

ASUS Deluxe suck.
That comes from my very own experience.
It have loads of extra bling,  but core functionality suck. BSOD, mysterious hdd detection problems and PC restarts, etc...

Unfortunately for you I deleted all links about this board when I got rid of it, so you'll have to google for it yourself.
You'll be amazed by results...


OcellotJenkins
Terracotta Army
Posts: 429


Reply #31 on: July 30, 2005, 07:59:57 AM

Looks good, but I highly recommend the following changes:

- ASUS "deluxe" socket 939 motherboard.  There are a couple to choose from and neither is much more expensive.  You'll appreciate the reliability and extra features down the road.


Looking to build a new box, soon.  I've heard a few good comments on the ASUS board you mentioned.  Care to expand on anything you've personally experienced?


About 6 or so years ago I wasn't brand loyal with motherboards and experimented with a variety of brands ranging from ABIT and Shuttle to really cheap ones that I can't even remember at the moment.  During this period I spent much time on hardware message boards trying to get to the bottom of oddball problems.  AGP voltage issues, random reboots, crappy BIOSs, you name it.  It was during this time that I noticed many folks recommending ASUS boards so I tried one and have never looked back.  I build a new machine for home about once every year and a half and average about 5 builds a year at work.  Since I've switched to ASUS I've not had to return a single board or replace a bad one down the road.  That is my experience so I'm sticking with what works for me.

Concerning chipsets, you'll find the hardware community rather split on which is better, VIA or nVidia's nForce.  Right now my main home machine is using the VIA based A8V Deluxe.  Last month I build a Windows 2003 Server 64bit Edition box at work using the non-deluxe version of this same board.  I could not be happier with either machine.  I've had both nForce and VIA over the years and occasionally one or the other will have a better set of drivers or be a tad more stable under certain conditions but at the present, I would not turn around for the difference.

You'll be hard pressed to find better features on a motherboard than the ASUS Deluxe.  The onboard surround sound has suited me well for gaming and music (I'm running the 3 piece Klipsh speaker set), at least one gigabit ethernet port (sometimes two depending on the model), dual channel memory slots, fully overclockable bios (although I never use that), and more recently Cool and Quiet technology.  Cool and Quiet, when activiated, will run your 2000 mhz processor at around 700mhz when idle and instantly ramp it up to full power in less than a second when it needs to.  This has a noticable effect on cpu and motherboard temps and saves energy.

So for a little over $100 at newegg, I can't find a better board for the money and based on my personal experience and the reviews I've read, I'll be sticking with ASUS until they give me a reason not to.
Morfiend
Terracotta Army
Posts: 6009

wants a greif tittle


Reply #32 on: July 31, 2005, 04:03:15 PM

I have always liked XP Pro much more than XP Home. Might just be me, but I have found Pro to be MUCH MUCH more stable. Althought that could have been fixed. Its been a long time since I used Home edition.
Signe
Terracotta Army
Posts: 18942

Muse.


Reply #33 on: August 01, 2005, 12:26:50 AM

Why are you putting together your own computer?  You're a lawyer, no?  Can't you just bill someone for a couple extra hours and buy one of those fancy shmancy alienware kits for like 5K? 

Or whatnot?

My Sig Image: hath rid itself of this mortal coil.
Ironwood
Terracotta Army
Posts: 28240


Reply #34 on: August 01, 2005, 06:23:34 AM

ASUS Deluxe suck.
That comes from my very own experience.
It have loads of extra bling,  but core functionality suck. BSOD, mysterious hdd detection problems and PC restarts, etc...

Unfortunately for you I deleted all links about this board when I got rid of it, so you'll have to google for it yourself.
You'll be amazed by results...





Heat.  Asus boards are really really sickened by the heat.  Mine was going very strange until I stuck more fans on and now it's a dream.  Unfortunately, it's a noisy jet engine motherfucker of a dream.

"Mr Soft Owl has Seen Some Shit." - Sun Tzu
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  Gaming  |  Topic: Ok, help this newb with his first build  
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.10 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC