Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2024, 04:46:22 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
we're back, baby
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  General Discussion  |  Serious Business  |  Topic: Jury Duty Problem 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Jury Duty Problem  (Read 24458 times)
Hawkbit
Terracotta Army

Like a Klansman in the ghetto.

on: March 18, 2015, 08:48:01 AM

I've been deferring a jury duty summons for the past two years because it conflicts with my university lectures. This year I've been selected for a time when I'm going to be out of state for my graduation. Unfortunately, I can't defer and my excuse (being out of state) was denied.

Does anyone know what happens when you don't show? It looks like it's a misdemeanor, but I want to know what I'm getting myself into.  http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?Cite=2.36.170
Signe
Terracotta Army

Muse.

Reply #1 on: March 18, 2015, 09:00:28 AM

In Pennsylvania they can make you go to court.  If you don't have a good reason for missing jury duty, they can put you in jail for a couple days -which they never do, fine you $50 to $1000, make you pick up trash on the roadside, or some other lame community service rubbish.  I've heard that in some states they charge you if your absence if it caused a delay.  Someone told me they were charged $650 for delays caused by him not showing up in spite of having a good reason for not turning up.

Maybe you could write them a letter explaining why you're not showing up just to have it on file in case they make you go to court?

My Sig Image: hath rid itself of this mortal coil.
rattran

Unreasonable

Reply #2 on: March 18, 2015, 09:48:46 AM