Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 05, 2024, 06:28:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
we're back, baby
Home Help Search Login Register
f13.net  |  f13.net General Forums  |  Gaming  |  Steam  |  Topic: DL Speeds 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: DL Speeds  (Read 4438 times)
Dren
Terracotta Army

on: July 06, 2011, 10:46:10 AM

I'm new to this and the TF2 f2p got me to bite.  I'm also very tempted by all the great deals that they run.  However, the dl speed is a bit of an issue.  Please let me know if I should be checking into speeding this up or if I'm normal.  I bounce from max 150KB/S to a low of ....well, zero.  It seems to me that it would take 18 hours to download TF2 at that rate, but the system told me like 9 hours at the start.  Over 18 hours later and I'm still dl'ing.  Does that seem right and why does Steam miscalculate the time to dl?

I want to buy their Valve pack to get pretty much everything they have out right now for $49.99, but I'm looking at like a week of babysitting a dl?  Is that normal?  Is there a way for them to just mail me the cd's?

Also, is there a way for me to copy the game to a temp HD from one computer and paste it to my other on a different steam account (F2P games of course?)  I want to set it up so I can play with/against my sons but not have to do these huge dl's multiple times.  I've been successful in doing this wth WoW and RIFT along with their expansions/updates/add-ons, but that's obviously a different beast.

Terracotta Army

Reply #1 on: July 06, 2011, 11:03:03 AM

I believe the F2P stuff sits in a 'common' folder under the steam ones so you can probably copy it (although it may then want to spend ages verifying!)