f13.net

f13.net General Forums => Lord of the Rings Online => Topic started by: Yegolev on August 08, 2006, 08:04:18 PM



Title: First useless post
Post by: Yegolev on August 08, 2006, 08:04:18 PM
(http://www.yegolev.com/images/lotro.ecstasy.jpg)


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Yoru on August 08, 2006, 08:06:14 PM
Please tell me your display settings are cranked way down. Please.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Yegolev on August 08, 2006, 08:09:16 PM
Your momma is cranked way down.

1600x1200x32, LOTRO windowed.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Yoru on August 08, 2006, 08:10:27 PM
I meant your LOTRO display settings.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Yegolev on August 08, 2006, 08:21:35 PM
The Option button didn't do anything, the one at the end of char gen.  I'll dingle with it later tonight.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Yoru on August 08, 2006, 08:23:08 PM
I'm guessing Turbine turned anything potentially troublesome off for the alpha (e.g. advanced graphical effects) then. Completely permissible.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Murgos on August 08, 2006, 08:31:04 PM
Yeah, the char gen portion was, uninspiring to say the least.

The game actually looks pretty good running around outside Archet and Bree though.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Yegolev on August 08, 2006, 11:00:49 PM
Once I got into the real game and the real Options screen, just going from "medium" to "very high" made a huge difference, adding bloom, even.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: JoeTF on August 09, 2006, 02:33:41 AM
But then going from mission instance to newbie town made another huge difference - from 20 to 0.2 fps.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Yegolev on August 09, 2006, 10:19:53 AM
Fortunately, my rig can handle the Very High setting in normal (non-busy) conditions, but there was a definite tradeoff during travel with stuttering and trees popping into existance.  I might play with the video settings later and see if there is some optimal setting.  I personally don't need shadows or bloom.  Or lens flare, but hey, options are good.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Signe on August 10, 2006, 09:12:02 AM
I'm on very high, too.  It looks nice.  I found that you can make your UI movable by pressing ctrl + \ at the same time.  Thank God.  It's a toggle, btw.  Does anyone know if you lose your xp for your crafting profession if you switch? 


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Kenrick on August 10, 2006, 09:20:40 AM
I've found that on my PC, I need to keep the graphics settings at LOW or VERY LOW to maintain what I consider to be an acceptable constant framerate.  I can get away with cranking it up higher, but if I go anywhere near a town then my FPS drops dramatically.

rig's basic stats:

P4 3.52 GHz Prescott
Radeon 9800 Pro (128MB)
1 GB RAM


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Signe on August 10, 2006, 09:35:47 AM
Hey you, Dingbot!  I think anyone can invite to the guild and if not... someone needs to promote everyone to invitation status.  Or I'll be off the the Pink Alpha Fairies!   :-P


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Signe on August 10, 2006, 09:44:54 AM
Also, since crafting tools of any sort are RIDICUOSLY expensive right now, I've decided to choose a profession that doesn't take any tools for, at least, some of it, just so I can sell stuff until I can afford tools.  Like armourer because hides are just a looting thing.  Maybe.  I THINK I'm not being stupid but I could be wrong.  Someone tell me what to do.

Server is back online, btw.

Not armourer, it's "explorer" if you want to be a resource gatherer.  Sorry.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: WayAbvPar on August 10, 2006, 10:52:04 AM
What are the crafting resources? Anything that drops off the animals? I can start hoarding stuff for ya if you need.



Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Rasix on August 10, 2006, 11:45:25 AM
What are the crafting resources? Anything that drops off the animals? I can start hoarding stuff for ya if you need.


There are nodes for ore and wood that are available in the post-intro area.  A mining pick costs 16 silver.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Signe on August 10, 2006, 12:12:46 PM
hides drop off of animals but I've not noticed them being any less random when you have explorer or armourer when you learn those professions.  Which sort of sucks.  I thought it would be a good way to make some dosh and then switch professions to something more interesting.  Oh well. 

Also, if everyone in our guild is hand-pickled from f13, why is everyone not promoted to the level where they can invite other members?  Is there a reason or is it just an oversight? 

I meant hand-picked, not pickled.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Yegolev on August 10, 2006, 12:26:12 PM
Is there a reason or is it just an oversight? 

It's either an oversight or Rasix hates you.  He's the Kinship Patriarch, you know.

OR OR OR you have to use the slash command instead of the GUI.  Not sure what that is.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Rasix on August 10, 2006, 01:38:51 PM
Also, if everyone in our guild is hand-pickled from f13, why is everyone not promoted to the level where they can invite other members?  Is there a reason or is it just an oversight? 

I just promoted everyone initially to make sure we had people on at all times that could invite.  I kind of forgot that officers can't promote. 

So, oversight/laziness.  I'll bump everyone up next time I'm on.


Title: Re: First useless post
Post by: Signe on August 10, 2006, 01:46:11 PM
Righ had the permissions to invite me.  I don't think Rasix hates me!  He just knows I'll abuse any power I get.  Why do you think I booted everyone from Bat Country in EQ2?  Oh, how I giggled! 

He is a clever, though cranky, patriarch.